Let us know a little about yourself! Tell us about your birds and why you are here.

Moderator: Mods

Kim

Post by Kim »

Hi, my name is Kim and I hail from Cape Town, South Africa.
I bought an IRN on Sunday past, her/his name is Max. (to avoid confusion I'll refer to Max as "she") :)
She is bright yellow, with light brown eyes and a dark pink beak. She looks ultra femme. I have no idea on her age or background, she was sold to our local pet shop with very little info. She is exceptionally quiet, and has finally started taking an interest in the toys in the cage. If I put my hand in the cage, she flies around like a nutcase. I must admit I don't know IRN very well, we have an African Grey, and them I understand perfectly. I like you I bite you, I don't like you I rip your finger to shreds :?
I am trying to find out as much as I can about the IRN, behaviour, taming etc. If anyone can offer any advise.. I'm all ears.

Now I have a multitude of your posts to read... hope to hear from some of you :)
Lisa's Tiki

Welcome!

Post by Lisa's Tiki »

Hi Kim, Welcome to the board! I am from California, USA and I have a blue IRN that is almost 5 months old named Tiki. Alot of people say IRNs are not cuddly and I guess that is true, but each bird is different and depending on how much you socialize with them depends on their behavior as well. As soon as I get home from work Tiki is out of his cage. If I am on the floor watching TV or playing a video game with my daughter, he too climbs down to join in. He will sit on my lap and let me give him scritches. I just got him a flight suit and he wears this now and goes with me to the store. This site along with Birdboard.com and http://www.mresource.com/Birds/PERPET.HTM have alot of information about IRN. I don't know much more than what I have read on these sites about these birds, but I know I would not trade mine for the world!
Kim

Post by Kim »

Thanks for the welcome Lisa