A few questions

Moderator: Mods

charlie

A few questions

Post by charlie »

I'm sorry if any of these have been asked before. I have used the search bit, but I'm not too good with these sorts of things so may of missed them.

The first one is one you probably get asked alot, noise! How loud are IRN's? I used to own a Senegal, who was alot quiter than the cockatiel I used to own. She whistled more than anything else, I never heard her scream or anything once. I have also been around a blue crowned conure while that was screaming, and that was loud! So if anyone could tell me what they're like compared to these 3 birds I would be very grateful. I expect some noise, they're birds after all, but I know that none of us, or our neighbours would appreciate a bird as loud as the conure was.

I have a little boy (3) and another child on the way, are they generally good with children? They will be able to give it treats and things (well, not the baby to start with, lol) but won't really be able to help with the other things like cleaning, etc. We often have people popping round, so I also need to know that they're usually good with other people. I know this can vary from bird to bird, but I would like to know in general.

Hand reared or parent reared? Does it make much difference which you buy? I know a hand reared bird will be tame from the start, but are young parent reared birds hard to tame? I've been looking at adverts for IRN's for sale, and see a few young parent reared birds for sale, but hardly any hand reared. And what age would it be best to buy either at?

I thought they pinned their eyes when they were angry, but I read something that someone had put on youtube (while I was watching one of the many videos) that says they do this when their happy, is this true? (this is just a general question for my curiosity!)