IRN for the First Time!! Total Novice (KIWI)

Moderator: Mods

kiwi

IRN for the First Time!! Total Novice (KIWI)

Post by kiwi »

Hi all,

My girlfriend and I have just got a IRN he is gorgeous. He is 3 months old, he loves to sit on the shoulder and back. Will come out of the cage without problems. He eats from our hands and from inside our mouths.
He does not like to be be held or come of the shoulder.

When he is on the ground or cage / table he will run away when he see the hands coming towards him but run towards us if he sees the forearm or anything apart from the hand he will run towards it.

I have never had a bird before and am not sure how to start training or build a stronger relationship. I am use to dogs
Can somebody suggest a place on the net where |I can get some information on how to train Captain (as in Hook).

He does occasionally take snaps at the hand but like to be scratched at other times. What I want to do his make/ help him feel more comfortable in our hands. Can anybody help with this?

If any body can suggest a suitable place to get info. or have any tips on what I can try wit hcaptain to make him more comfortable in our hands I would be very grateful. Does anybody have any tips on what I can do with Captain to keep him entertained. He likes car rides and indiscriminate tasting and chewing!
Thank you all, I would really appreciate any help.

ringneck
Site Admin

Post by ringneck »

Hello Kiwi,

Welcome to this board! My apologies for replying so late! Been so busy!

Congratulations on your new Indian Ringneck! They make great pets and with a little work, they can make phenomenal parrots.

Training your Indian Ringneck to appreciate the hand will take time, but with patience it can be done. Your first task is to show him your hand is friendly, rather then a five finger monster out to get him.