Question for Mazziemom

Moderator: Mods

elaine

Question for Mazziemom

Post by elaine »

Hello, I am asking this because of a comment you made in recent photos put on here by Gweenie and her new cage. What do you mean about the perches. I am new to my IRN so listen to all the advice that all you 'old hands' say on here. I didn't know there was anything but wooden perches. My baby has some short rope perches but they are more toys than full length perches. When you mentioned ulcers, my stomach did a double take - does this really happen? why and when? (sorry about so many questions in one). I want to do all I can to look after my bird properly and now I am worried. Advice is much appreciated. Thanks Elaine.
Dani03

Post by Dani03 »

Sorry Mazziemom...but I'd figure I'd try to answer...

If you use the dowel perches it is not a good thing. Dowels are uniform in shape and do not allow the bird to excercise his feet. This can create arthritis or foot sores on the feet early. Get the natural perches, ones that look like branches but have a metal screw and two washers. You attach these to the side. If you have all dowels get them out asap...and replace with natural wood that varies. Also the birds just love to chew on them...a great toy :wink:

Dani and Prinny
Mazziemom

Post by Mazziemom »

No problem dear...

Those dowels can cause sores on the feet, I've seen them be just red swollen spots, and I've seen actual broken open sores. Not pretty, and really painful for a creature that stands for its entire life.

Heres a link that shows you some natural perches:

http://www.drsfostersmith.com/product/N ... 003+113417

I like cholla a lot because they are soft and easy to grip. They do get chewed up, but birds are supposed to chew.

I prefer manzinita with the bark on it if you can find it, its easier to grip. Sandblasted is my second choice.

http://www.drsfostersmith.com/product/N ... 003+113418