Who am I ?

Moderator: Mods

abdulwassay

Who am I ?

Post by abdulwassay »

My violet pair breed first time and three chicks hatched out of four eggs.All three chicks are different from each.One is wh wt violet,One is violet and I want to inquire about the third one which is not simple blue it is rather greenish typeImage.
abdulwassay

Re: Who am I ?

Post by abdulwassay »

Skyes_crew

Post by Skyes_crew »

I'm taking a guess here because I'm still very new to genetics and mutations. Someone with experience will come along shortly and answer you. But I would like to try.

To me it looks like you have two violets and a turquoise. From the pics you provided that's what I would say :) what was the parentage of the violet breeding pair?
I am owned by my birds...and I wouldn't have it any other way :D

Ring0Neck

Post by Ring0Neck »

In the last pic the greenish bird looks lighter then a turquoise, and has a very even color throughout.
can you post more pics without flash? from the back also and make sure we can see the tails.
and tell us the parents info.
sheyd

Post by sheyd »

I would say from the first pic- Blue, dfViolet and Violetblue
Skyes_crew

Post by Skyes_crew »

Shey...I know there is a difference, but what is the difference between a violet and a violetblue?

sheyd

Post by sheyd »

Doublefactor Violets have 2 copies (of Violet), and Violetblue's have only 1.
trabots

Post by trabots »

Doublefactor Violets have 2 copies (of Violet), and Violetblue's have only 1.
Sheyd, not quite, you are incorrectly using Parblue terminology. DF Violet Blue and Violet Blue are correct and as you say the former has 2 genes (or factors) and the latter only 1. Only co-alleles have their names joined. TurquoiseBlue, IndigoBlue, TurquoiseIndigo etc.